Searching for the “So What?”

One of the things I love about social media and my transactions with my personal learning network is the wealth of ideas I glean from these learning spaces.   What I relish even more, though, are those who actually write about how they are putting those ideas into practice and reflections on those experiences.    In the last year, I have focused on trying to include more posts that explicitly share how my original ideas or those I am borrowing from others play out in my practice as a school librarian; sharing more evidence based practice is one of my writing goals for 2010-11.

I’d like to challenge all of us (public, school, academic librarians, and this includes me as well!) not only to talk about ideas we are discovering in our diverse learning spaces, but to also do more sharing of how those ideas are translating into actual practice in our daily work.  It’s one thing to talk about ideas, but to me, the real power comes from discussing how we are putting those ideas into actual action and exploring the ways people are breathing life into the ideas in their library spaces.  I hope you’ll join me in this challenge during the next twelve months so that we can tap into the power of the collective wisdom from our practice.

Share

One thought on “Searching for the “So What?”

  1. Hi Buffy,

    I am currently reading “Action Research in Organisations” by McNiff for a research methodologies class. I am pleasantly surprised by the personal experience the author infused into the book. She focuses on the gap between theory in use/theory in action and how we should work to overcome it by methods you refer to in your post – reflecting on, evaluating, and sharing our practices with others.

    http://www.nextag.com/Action-Research-in-Organisations-55562761/prices-html

    Anne

Leave a Reply

