Inspiration: “My Head’s On Fire Generating Ideas” by Jim Burke

Check out Jim Burke’s slidedeck for what had to have been an incredibly inspiring and thought-provoking presentation to the Michigan Reading Association on strategies for getting students to think in his high school English classroom (and I think they are applicable in any subject area).    In this slidedeck you’ll see familiar as well as inventive strategies for creating conversations for learning with students.

I’ve been a fan of Burke’s for many years (I think everyone who has taught high school English in the last decade or so is a fan), and it is exciting to follow him and be inspired by his work through social media.  You can follow him on Twitter, his blog, or through the wonderful English Companion Ning; I also love his “Weekly Reader” digital anthology. Additionally, I recommend his book, What’s the Big Idea?  Question Driven Units to Motivate Reading, Writing, and Thinking, for your personal and/or school professional collection.

As I’ve been pondering the intersection of collaboratively written research papers and multigenre projects for Spring 2011, a discussion thread initiated by Burke about his exploration of possibilities for digital essays has had me ruminating in recent weeks on ideas for digital research “papers” or “texts” (hint:  I’m using these terms in a broader context outside the traditional concepts associated with these words)  for this spring; I will be sharing my ideas a little later this week here on the blog.

4 thoughts on “Inspiration: “My Head’s On Fire Generating Ideas” by Jim Burke

Leave a Reply

