Crowdsourcing Recommended Reads for Issues in School Librarianship

CC Image via http://goo.gl/jE7ra

About two weeks ago, I received an email from my mentor and cherished friend, Dr. Mary Ann Fitzgerald, of the University of Georgia, who shared the following charge:

Here’s a question that’s perfect for you.  I’m teaching an Issues class this summer as an elective (M.Ed level). In the past, I’ve come up with a laundry list of topics and we’ve explored those.

Another approach might be to choose a single book — a paradigm shifter sort of book that relates to SLM.  Not a textbook.  Something like:

  • information + social + technology + education, multiplied by radical
  • Something we can all read and have some rich discussions about, preferably available in e-book format
  • TED talkish

What title would you nominate?  Something published quite recently.

While I had some titles in mind, I decided to tap into the wisdom of my PLN (personal learning network) via good old-fashioned email and crowdsource the list a bit.  Thanks to my sage colleagues, I have compiled a reading list that I think fits the criteria described by Mary Ann: I think this list gives veterans a rich reading menu as well!  What would you add?  You can share your own suggestions by adding them to the public Google doc I’ve created; you can also download the initial list I originally created in Word from SlideShare below.

2 comments

  1. You have lots of good suggestions! Another one that came to mind is “Copyright Clarity: How Fair Use Supports Digital Learning” by Renee Hobbs.

  2. Thank you for this great list. I am reading “Living on the Future Edge: Windows on Tomorrow” c2010 by Ian Jukes, et al.– taking lots of notes. I’ve also read almost all of Seth Godin’s books; “Poke” is next on my list. Since I am in CT and Jason Ohler is coming to our joint conference in the fall, “Digital Community, Digital Citizen” is another next read. “The Shallows” is also on my list of to reads. “Alone Together” looks good and will keep us student-centered.

Leave a Reply

