Take a Virtual Tour of The Unquiet Library, Fall 2012


Given the hectic pace of pre-planning and the fact we have new fifteen faculty, I thought it would be a good idea to create some type of virtual library tour and LibGuides page to highlight program services, library information, relevant links, and documents.  You can now see the first incarnation of our “virtual library tour” housed at LibGuides that is designed for faculty (veterans as well as newbies), students, and parents to explore at their leisure.  I’ll be keeping it as a static page pinned to our featured guides so that it’s easily accessible to all and will add updates as we roll out additional initiatives or important documents throughout the upcoming year.   It is a work in progress, and I already have ideas for tweaks I hope to make for the future.

Are you creating virtual tours of your library?  If so, what tools are you using to craft these and what information are you sharing?  What mediums of content creation are you utilizing?  If you have published a virtual tour, please share in the comments section as a model for the rest of us to follow!

7 thoughts on “Take a Virtual Tour of The Unquiet Library, Fall 2012

  1. Inspiring, this definitely gave me some ideas for my Media Cetners’ websites. I always enjoy reading about what’s happening at the Unquiet Library. Thanks for sharing your great ideas!

  2. HI Buffy,
    What a great idea! Thanks for posting this. You’ve given me many ideas-I’m an elementary librarian moving into the high school library that needs tons of TLC. You are a wonderful inspiration!

  3. Buffy, I love this! I too, have used many of your ideas, especially with LibGuides. This is a super way to introduce the media center to all patrons. Might even want to incorporate something like this into 9th grade orientation.

  4. My first day back and you have given me great ideas! I’m going to add this to my 9th grade orientation. This is year 32 for me and I’m excited.

  5. Pingback: Styling Librarian: Technology Resources shared August 2012 « The Styling Librarian

Leave a Reply

