This Is How We Do It: The Model for My Media 21 Project

Dr. Michael Wesch, Assistant Professor of Cultural Anthropology and Digital Ethnography, is one of my teaching and information literacy heroes.   As most of you know, his model of seamlessly  integrating social scholarship into his classroom is what I hope to emulate in my Media 21 Capstone Project during 2009-10.

There is a new post on his blog which beautifully outlines his class structure and teaching paradigm. This approach to teaching, learning, and research will be my compass as I collaborate with Susan Lester, 10th English, and now Mary Panik, Geology and Environmental Science, during the 2009-10 school year.   I can’t tell you how excited I am about working with these teachers and having the opportunity to really embed the library and information literacy as essential elements of the high school learning experience!

Of course, I will be blogging the whole process, so please stay tuned in the upcoming months!  We will be doing intense planning and implementation of the course infrastructures during the summer, so blog posts will be coming regularly.  Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

