Creating Comfortable Spaces: New Lounge Furniture

furniture

I can’t help but celebrate the arrival of our new lounge furniture this past Wednesday!  While we already had some areas of comfortable lounge seating (purchased by my principal, Dr. Eddy our first year), the need for additional comfortable lounge seating has increased in the last two years with our ever-growing usage.

One of the benefits and reasons for doing the shelving remix this past spring was to be able to remove the excessive large shelving that was sucking up precious floor space in what I call the “commons” or “main floor area.”  After the shelves were repurposed in our school, I dreamed all spring  of cozy lounge furniture and extra tables for our students.

Thanks to the coffee shop program that will be coming to the library this fall and to my local account that consists of donations from our PTA and fine monies, I was able to get enough furniture to make the vision come to life this summer!  While I still want some additional rugs, lamps, and perhaps one or two more pieces of furniture, I am thrilled with what we have acquired this summer.  I cannot wait to see the students’ faces on Monday!

You can see the photos in larger view by visiting my Flickr photoset.

For more ideas on what makes a great library space, I urge you to check out Cathy Nelson’s amazing wiki page called “Today’s Library”—lots of terrific ideas here compiled by her and other librarians as to what works and what doesn’t in the 21st century school library space!

A special thanks to my Brian Aaron, owner of Woodstock Furniture Outlet, and his staff for helping us with our furniture selection and speedy delivery!

8 thoughts on “Creating Comfortable Spaces: New Lounge Furniture

  1. Wow! Beautiful spaces…great furniture. I’m very jealous of all that room🙂 Let us know what the kids think!

  2. Love the zebra print chairs and the table/bar stools, but there is no way I can have sofas in my library. As it is, I still have to remind kids one rear per chair. My library isn’t nearly as large as yours! I don’t think a sofa would even fit in there. I bought a some of the dorm room “chairs” and stools from Target and a fun rug to create a “seating” area in my fiction section. That’s where most of the kids lounge.

  3. What a great set up! It reminds me of a Borders or Barnes and Noble….which is great because that is where you always see people who are relaxing and enjoying a good read whether it be a book, magazine, or internet article. The environment is comfortable and inviting so it draws people in and the learning begins. This is the kind of place that students will want to hang out and learn in. Fantastic work!

  4. I appreciate you bringing attention to the importance and enjoyment of good library furniture. When I think back on some of the clinical drab library settings I have seen over the years, I always feel brightened when I see a library setting where care and investment has been given to the furnishings. I also appreciate good choices in carpet colors and patterns. Making the library a place that is inviting and pleasant is an important part of library management. I like to spend time in a library that is aesthetically appealing. An Antarctic research station library may have perfectly good reading materials but if it looks like something that is purely functional with gray walls and all metal furniture, it may only be an appealing alternative to going outside to a world of ice.
    When at all possible, nice library furniture should be included in a library plan. I think of it as a basic parameter. In terms of priorities, enhancing the collection can always be an on-going process but it is ideal if possible, to make the library appealing sooner than later so students will enjoy being in the library space. You mention the hope to add some rugs. This can be good because carpeted flooring dampens sound.
    I hope other school libraries are inspired by the message of the positive atmosphere the new furniture brings to your library.

    Wayne A.

  5. Great furniture. Does it adhere to the flammability codes? We need to replace our library sectional that the kids love and need to find one that adheres to the flammability codes. Where did you purchase your furniture from?

    1. Thank you! Yes, it does, but we bought ours locally at Woodstock Furniture Outlet in Acworth, Georgia. If that is in your vicinity, let me know, and I can put you in touch with the great people there.

      Best,
      Buffy

Leave a Reply

