Clay Shirky and Cognitive Surplus

This just posted TED Talk from Clay Shirky, “How cognitive surplus will change the world”, is one that is informing my thinking and practice, especially as I prepare to dig in the next few weeks in July into serious planning mode before returning to work (officially, anyway) on July 27.   I am also currently reading the book, Cognitive Surplus:  Creativity and Generosity in a Digital Age, on my Kindle app for iPhone and will be blogging my reactions to the book at some point in July as well and what I think it might mean for my library program in 2010-11 and my practice as a librarian.

I encourage you to carve out about fifteen minutes to listen to Shirky’s talk:

Share

5 thoughts on “Clay Shirky and Cognitive Surplus

  1. Love Shirky’s talk. I just finished reading Nicholas Kristof’s powerful book, Half the Sky: Turning Oppression into Opportunity for Women Worldwide. This fits right into Shirky’s argument that intrinsic motivation to civic action and cognitive surplus will indeed shape the 21st Century.

  2. Thanks for bringing Shirky’s talk to the attention of those who might not otherwise have seen it. I’ve been a big fan of his since seeing the 52-minute “Internet Issues Facing Newspapers: A Talk with Clay Shirky” recorded on September 22, 2009 and posted on YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tnW2Lv8aFGs. He clearly takes big-picture issues and offers compelling thoughts on them in ways that lift us above the day-to-day concerns we too-infrequently consider.

Leave a Reply

