Participatory Learning and Librarianship, NYLA-SLMS Spring Conference 2011

Saturday Luncheon Keynote, Photo by Kate Elstad http://goo.gl/Ej7Yf

I had the pleasure of joining the amazing school librarians of New York at the New York Library Association-SLMS Spring Conference 2011 this past weekend in Buffalo, New York.  Words can’t thank the conference organizers and attendees enough for their incredible hospitality and warm words of encouragement!  My luncheon keynote slidedeck is featured at the top of this post;  you can also view the slidedeck and resources for my morning concurrent session on “Inviting Student Participation in Your School Library Media Program.”    I’m looking forward to returning to New York this August to participate in the 2011 Carol A. Kearney Leadership Retreat: Think, Create, Share and Grow: Transforming Your School Library Leadership.

Buffy and Sue, Niagara Falls Visit May 2011

I’d also like to extend a special thank you to Sue Kretzer for taking time to drive me over to Niagara Falls-–I was absolutely thrilled to see this magnificent and awe-inspiring force of nature.  Getting to see such a beautiful natural wonder was the perfect finishing touch to a special weekend—thank you, Sue!

6 thoughts on “Participatory Learning and Librarianship, NYLA-SLMS Spring Conference 2011

  1. Hi Buffy,

    I really enjoyed the opportunity to hear you present on Saturday. I utilize many of the technologies you discussed, but not ways in a participatory way. Your session has encouraged me find news ways to solicit student feedback. After listening to you, I’ve decided to open our library Facebook page to allow student comments, and embed polls into the Facebook page to get feedback on potential decisions.

    Thanks for the inspiration!

  2. I can’t help but think about you, Buffy Gunter Hamilton, Mrs. Southern Belle, speaking in New York!

    “Hi, y’all!”
    🙂 How awesome was that?!?!? Congratulations on your many successes!

  3. Buffy
    Thanks for the picture of us at the Falls. My friends are calling me a library celebrity. It was awesome to be able to show you the Falls and parts of Buffalo. I subscribed to your blog and now will be inspired by all the wonderful things you do at your library. You are a delight!

  4. Hi Buffy,

    Your keynote slidedeck at the ‘New York Library Association-SLMS Spring Conference 2011’ in Buffalo, New York. is great!
    Congratulations🙂

    I have published it on my personal blog (Education and Innovation) as an inspiration to school librairians and school teachers. It’s a wonderful eucational tool

    I respected copyright .

    My best wishes,

    G-Souto (Portugal)

Leave a Reply

