Midyear Media Center Report Fall 2015

For the last few weeks, I have contemplated doing a midyear/end of semester report.  While I have done monthly and yearly reports in the past, I have never done one at this point in the academic year.  However, I thought it would be a great reflective exercise for me as a school librarian in a new school and new district as well as a great way to share what has been happening with my administrative team.  My friend and former NHS colleague Jennifer Lund inspired me to use Piktochart after showing me her fabulous midyear report.  Here is my own rendition, which you can view by scrolling or in presentation view by clicking on the presentation icon in the upper right hand corner of the screen.

Hooch Learning Studio Fall 2015 Semester Report

Hooch Learning Studio Midyear Report 2015 - Piktochart Infographic Editor 2015-12-18 10-32-48

2 thoughts on “Midyear Media Center Report Fall 2015

  1. Hi, I love reading your blog. I am the librarian at a private, Catholic, College Preparatory Day school for Girls. Last year I worked at a Vo-Tech High School. I get a lot of girls in the library to study individually and as groups. A lot of make-up tests are done here as well. What doesn’t happen here are checking out of books. No one checked out books last either. Is this a high school thing? I have worked Elementary and each class checks out books, this year, my power cord is the most circulated item. So far this year, our girls have been accepted at big schools like MIT, Georgetown, and Boston College. So our academics are rigorous. I have emailed the faculty sites, suggestions, offered help with projects, but no one has taken me up on the offers. So I babysit the girls when they come in. How common is this at the high school level? I thought I would be doing a lot more reference and circulating here compared to the Vo-Tech school, but I am not. Has the internet replaced the library? When I saw your pie chart of how your library is being used, I had to write and ask what you do.

    Thanks for your time. Rosemary O’Koren

    Librarian Ursuline Academy 85 Lowder Street Dedham, MA 02026 781-493-7722 rokoren@ursulineacademy.net

Leave a Reply

